Photography tools

How to Reset Photoshop Tools to Their Defaults 2022 Tip

This tutorial explains how to reset Photoshop tools to their default settings. We will do our best for you to understand this guide. I hope you will like this blog How to Reset Photoshop Tools to Their Default Settings. If your answer is yes, please share after reading this.

Check how to reset Photoshop tools to their default settings

The Reset All Photoshop Tools command has been around for a long time. In earlier versions of Photoshop, selecting Reset All Tools resets all tool settings in the options bar to their default values. This erased all previously used custom settings. However, what Reset All Tools won’t do is reset the toolbar to its default layout. If you want to restore all tools to default, you need to check each toolbar item one by one and select the default tool manually.

In Photoshop CC, we no longer have to. The Reset All Tools command always resets the tools to their default settings in the options bar. But now it also resets all toolbar items to their default parent tool. The improved Reset All Tools command was first added in Photoshop CC 2014. However, since it hasn’t received much attention, many Photoshop users are ignoring it. To use it and follow this tutorial, you need to be running Photoshop (Creative Cloud). You also need to make sure your copy of Photoshop CC is up to date.

How to Restore Panels in Photoshop

  • If it’s a missing panel, there’s a very simple fix for that. Let’s say the left toolbar is gone: just go to the Window option in the menu and make sure Tools is checked.
  • The process is the same for all panels listed in the Window menu. Click on it to select it and it will reappear on your screen.
  • If there is a panel you don’t want to use, you can also close it by clicking the menu button in the corner of the panel and clicking Close.

How to Reset Photoshop Appearance to Defaults

  • If the whole program looks completely different to you, chances are your workspace has changed.
  • Photoshop offers a number of predefined workspaces that you can choose from. These workspaces will open panels useful to your users based on what they are doing. To do this, they have a workspace for 3D design, graphic design and web design, motion design, painting and photography.
  • Adobe also offers the default Essentials workspace, which you’re probably used to.
  • You can select your workspace by going to Window > Workspace and selecting one of the options listed above.
  • If you went back to Photoshop and found that the panels you were used to are no longer open, just go to Window > Workspace > Reset Essentials. (If you’re using one of Photoshop’s other workspaces, this is the one you should see listed under the Reset option.)
  • If none of these workspaces exactly suit your needs, you can open all of your panels and go to Window > Workspace > New Workspace and Photoshop will capture all of your panel locations. You can also capture keyboard shortcuts, menus, and toolbar options that you have customized.
  • You can drag panels, rearrange them, close them, open them, or minimize them until your workspace is exactly the way you like it before saving it.

How to Reset All Tools in Photoshop

When you customize tool settings in Photoshop, your settings are saved so you can use them the next time you edit an image. If you are resetting Photoshop, you will also want to reset the settings for this tool.

Here’s how you can do it:

  • Select one of the tools from the toolbar. Remember that you are resetting all tools and not just the one you selected.
  • If you’re on Windows, hold down the Ctrl key and click the tool icon at the top. Mac users should hold down the Control button and click the tool icon at the top.
  • Select the Reset All Tools option.
  • Click OK in the message on your screen and all your tools will be reset.

How to Reset All Your Preferences in Photoshop

Photoshop saves your custom settings in a preferences file. If you want Photoshop to return to the state it was in when you first installed it, you can delete the preferences file and that will completely reset the application. Keep in mind that none of your settings will be saved, so save everything you need later.

Then follow these steps to completely reset Photoshop:

  • Close Photoshop if it is running on your computer.
  • If you’re on Windows, hold down Shift + Ctrl + Alt and double-click the Photoshop shortcut. If you’re using a Mac, hold down Shift + Command + Option and launch Photoshop.
  • A message will appear asking if you want to delete the Photoshop settings file.
  • Click Yes to continue.
  • Photoshop should now be back to factory settings.

Final Words: How to Reset Photoshop Tools to Their Default Settings

I hope you understand this article How to Reset Photoshop Tools to Their Default Settings, if your answer is no, you can ask anything via the contact forum section linked to this article. And if your answer is yes, share this article with your family and friends.