Portrait photography

Portrait Photography: A Bootcamp Weekend with Nigel Wilson | Guardian Master Classes

Images of people can evoke extraordinary emotions and stories – from the shadows falling on a woman’s face to the mystery behind a man’s eyes. In addition to technical skills, portrait photography requires a certain amount of trust between the person in front of the camera and the person holding it.

In this intensive two-day bootcamp with photographer and tutor Nigel Wilsonyou will learn to develop both your technical skills and your approaches as a photographer, to capture striking images of human subjects.

Drawing inspiration from some of the most important and groundbreaking photographers in history, such as Martin Parr, Jane Bown, Steve McCurry and many more, you’ll discover how photography doesn’t just tell us about the subject, but that it reveals a lot about the person. behind the camera too. Under Nigel’s expert guidance, you’ll be guided through the photo-perfect recipe, with every ingredient explained clearly and in detail.

By the end of this interactive weekend bootcamp, you’ll be able to confidently tackle potential topics and use your DLSR or mirrorless camera to tell compelling stories.

This course is for…

  • Anyone interested in developing or acquiring knowledge and skills in portraiture

  • Those familiar with the basics of digital photography – some understanding of aperture, shutter speed and ISO would be beneficial

  • Access to a digital camera is a prerequisite for this course

Course content

  • Technical Considerations

  • Equipment, including essential lenses

  • Exploring light: natural versus artificial

  • Inspirational portrait styles. Learn from the greats

  • Consider the context

Tutor Profile

Nigel Wilson is an experienced teacher who leads classes at many institutions including New York University, Photofusion and the famous London Camera Club. He has also lectured at the Victoria & Albert Museum and is a tutor for the Royal Photographic Society.

Details

Dated: Saturday May 28 – Sunday May 29, 2022
Time: 2pm-5pm BST
Price: £249 (plus £7.31 booking fee)

Event Capacity: 20

This masterclass is available worldwide. If you are joining us from outside the UK, please use this time zone converter to check your local live stream time.

14:00 BST | 3pm CEST | 6am PDT | 9 a.m. EDT

You will receive a link to the webinar 24 hours and 2 hours before the start time of 2pm (BST).

Guardian Master Class Information

Sign up for our newsletter and you’ll be among the first to find out about our latest courses and special offers. You can also follow us on Twitterand read our latest articles and interviews on our blog.

To contact us, click here. Terms and conditions can be found here.

By registering for this masterclass, you are helping to support the Guardian, and it allows us to keep our quality reporting open to all.

All Guardian Masterclasses are fully accessible – but please contact us if you have any questions or concerns.

Return policy

Once the purchase has been made, we cannot refund you if you do not attend or if you cancel your event reservation. Please see our terms and conditions for more information on our refund policy.